Harry Kalas

Harry Kalas, longtime broadcaster of the Philadelphia Phillies, passed away last week.  He was the “Voice of the Phillies” for well over 30 years, and he will be sorely missed.  I grew up watching baseball, from the age of 6, and Harry’s voice has always been the mainstay of every single game that I’ve ever listened to or watched.  I am well aware that many of you that read this post probably will not know who he is, but I wanted to dedicate my first official blog here to him, and just to publicly share that I am deeply saddened by his death, but have many wonderful memories listening to him through the years. 

Harry was a class act through and through, not just as a broadcaster, but as a part of the Philadelphia extended family.  He always made time for fans and just had a genuine and pure heart for baseball, Philadelphia and the betterment of those around him.  While I never met him in person, I feel like I had, and many other fans have said the same thing.  He was so consistent for so many years in what he did and his passion for what he did, he became ingrained into every Philadelphia baseball fan. 

I think the most touching tribute comes from those around the country, and around the world, those who didn’t have the pleasure of listening to Philadelphia baseball day in and day out, and they have nothing but kind words to say about Harry The K.  Watching every tribute on television has brought at least a tear to my eye.  He lived a charmed and wonderful life, and I truly believe he made the lives of those who were around him, and those who listened to him, better, even if just for the few hours of each game he called.

In closing, I know that Harry is now calling games with Whitey (Richie Ashburn) in Heaven, best friends in life, broadcasting partners for eternity.  You were both wonderful broadcasters, but above that, great men, and you will never be forgotten!

R.I.P Harry!  I will miss you!

Leave a Reply

